Scarifying!

Scarifying has been the main aim of today.  Recently I was enjoying a cup of coffee in the garden and surveying the back lawn, when I realised that it was looking decidedly mossy – in fact it was starting to take over.  The blades of grass were poking up sporadically between large patches of spongy moss, and it was starting to look like 70/30 in favour of the moss – maybe more in places!

So a plan of action was formed.  The Head Gardener (aka My Dad) appeared today with an electric scarifier and we set to work trying to hoik up a large amount of moss and thatch and non-grass from the grass.  He did the scarifying, I did the raking and scooping.  We filled wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow until his trailer was full of a giant pile of moss, ready for tipping at the local recycling centre.   It seemed like a big job but actually took less than an hour – and was SO satisfying.  Removing all the mossy stuff has left the grass looking a bit scruffy and muddy in places but I’m assured by the aforementioned Head Gardener that it should come back looking much better, although we may need to repeat the procedure annually, if not twice a year.

IMG_7791
One of many, many wheelbarrows full of moss

He’s very good at reminding me that gardeners must play the long game.  We can’t always get results straight away – in fact, we hardly ever do!  It takes time for seeds to germinate, for buds to form and flowers to bloom.  If we prune a shrub, it will take time for it to re-grow into a more pleasing shape; some trees will take years and years to grow – we have a Monkey Puzzle (Araucaria araucana) in the front garden which will take so long to reach a significant height that we will probably be long gone by the time it does so!  And he likes to remind me, Instant-Gratification Girl, that I must be patient when it comes to my garden.  I hope to enjoy it for many years, so a quick transformation is not necessary and virtually impossible, so I must take my time, plan carefully and be persistent with things like the grass and the Secret Garden/Allotment.  Grass must be looked after, soil must be enriched and worked – the results will show themselves in time, and will be worth the effort.

In Bargain Shopping News, I was at Lidl today and picked up some more cut-price plants: two geraniums (99p each), four primroses (£1.89 each, 12 box (£1.99 for six) and a jasmine (£4.69).

IMG_7790

The primroses are gorgeous – I chose two cream/white plants and two in pinky-purple shades.  I will probably put these in pots but to be honest I’ve fallen so suddenly and completely for these sturdy little flowers with their vivid colours that it will be difficult to resist going back for more for the flower beds…

IMG_7789
Primula

 

3 comments

    • Neither really! We’re east coast so not particularly wet climate and the grass is mossy all over, including the front garden which is in full sun for a lot of the day. So I don’t really know the cause, just that I want to get rid of it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

